Early Years Foundation Stage

The curriculum for our youngest children in Reception class takes into account each child’s individual needs and stages of development.  Children of this age learn best through a balance of learning activities and focused / planned play.

The curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning –

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive Art and Design
  • Understanding of the World.

Each of these areas is equally important and work together to form a rounded view of each child and their strengths and interests.


Through half termly topics we build on children’s prior experiences and extend their knowledge and skills, linking into each of the seven areas of learning and taking into account the children’s own interests and their preferred way of learning. 


Each area of the curriculum has developmental matters which establish expectations for most children to reach by the end of the Foundation Stage.  Some children will do more than is expected of them, whilst others will still be working towards them.